en de fr

Limnobotics

The autonomous sampling boat The goal of this multi-disciplinary project is to provide unprecedented spatial and temporal coverage of key limnological parameters of Lake Zurich for a better understanding of the mass occurrence and population dynamics of the toxic cyanobacterium Planktothrix rubescens. We developped an Autonomous Boat equipped with a variety of sensors (temperature, pH, light, oxygen, nutrients, and algal pigments) to allow for the high-frequency monitoring of cyanobacterial spatiotemporal distribution. In parallel, we will develop and apply methods to rapidly assess the contribution of toxic strains to the P. rubescens population. The boat-generated field data will serve

  1. to create a lake basin-wide model of P. rubescens development in the context of physico-chemical parameters and
  2. to guide the specific (event-driven) manual sampling campaigns and subsequent laboratory analyses, such as strain typing, gene expression of microcystin production and single-cell detection of microcystin concentration.

This project is a collaboration between the Limnological Station from University of Zurich, and the Autonomous Systems Lab (ASL) from ETH Zurich. It will run for 3 years and will provide funding for one PhD at the ASL and one postdoc at the limnological station.

This project is funded by SNF.


UZH Logo ETH Zurich ASL Logo

en de fr

Limnobotics

The autonomous sampling boat Limnobotics est un projet scientifique qui réunit les domaines de la limnologie (l’étude des eaux douces) et de la robotique pour une meilleure compréhension de l’hydrologie et de la biologie du lac Zurich, un lac préalpin de la Suisse.

Ce projet multidisciplinaire vise à documenter les paramètres limnologiques du Lake Zurich avec couverture spatiale et temporelle sans précédant pour une meilleure compréhension de la présence massive de la cyanobactérie toxique Planktothrix rubescens, de même que la dynamique de sa population. Nous avons développé un bateau autonome équipé d’une variété de capteurs (température, pH, lumière, oxygène, nutriments, et pigments algaux) pour permettre la surveillance continue de la distribution spatiotemporelle des cyanobactéries. En parallèle, nous développons et appliquons des techniques de biologie moléculaire pour évaluer en peu de temps la contribution des souches toxiques P. rubescens à la population totale. Les données de terrain générées à l’aide de notre bateau autonome servirons à:

  1. créer un model à l’échelle du basin lacustre pour illustrer le développement de P. rubescens en fonction des paramètres physico-chimiques;
  2. guider des campagnes d’échantillonnage manuel selon des événements spécifiques, de même que les analyses en laboratoire subséquentes, telles que la classification des souches, l’expression génique de la production de microcystine et la détection cellulaire des concentrations de microcystine.

Ce projet est une collaboration entre la station limnologique de l’Université de Zurich, et le Autonomous Systems Lab (ASL) de ETH Zurich. Le projet durera 3 ans et fournira des fonds à un doctorant de l’ASL, et à chercheur postdoctoral de la station limnologique.

Ce projet est subventionné par le SNF.


UZH Logo ETH Zurich ASL Logo